Harbour Hawk’s Sio Tomkinson named in NZ U20 world champs team


New Zealand has named its squad for the World Rugby Under 20 Championship, with two Otago players winning selection.

Otago and Highlanders midfield back Sio Tomkinson and Southern prop Shaun Stodart both retain their places in the team, after being in the team for the recent Oceania championships.

Hurricanes hooker Leni Apisai captains the team, which includes Blues halfback Sam Nock, Hurricanes first five-eighth TJ Va’a, Chiefs outside back Shaun Stevenson and Blues outside back Jordan Trainor.

The tournament runs from June 7-25 and will be played in Manchester, England. New Zealand get their campaign underway on the opening day, against Georgia, before further pool games against Ireland and Wales.

New Zealand U20 squad:
Ayden Johnstone, Shaun Stodart, Sean Paranihi, Alex Fidox, Sosefo Kautai, Leni Apisai, Asafo Aumua, Quinten Strange, Hamish Dalzell, Isaia Walker-Leawere, Fin Hoeata, Mitchell Jacobson, Luke Jacobson, Dalton Papali’i, Marino Mikaele, Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a, Jonathan Taumateine, Sam Nock, Stephen Perofeta, TJ Va’a, Orbyn Leger, Jordie Barrett, Sio Tomkinson, Jonah Lowe, Malo Tuitama, Caleb Makene, Shaun Stevenson, Jordan Trainor.

ODT Link –http://www.odt.co.nz/sport/rugby/382700/rugby-nz-u20-name-world-champs-team